The Marco Beltrami Universe



















Live Free or Die Hard


Varese Sarabande Records
SKU: VSD-6824
UPC: 030206682427

Executive Album Producer Robert Townson

Release Date: June 26, 2007
Purchase Links
- Varese Sarabande
- Colosseum
- Screen Archives
- Intrada Records
Amazon US
Amazon UK
- Amazon DE
- Buysoundtrax
Movie Music



1. Out of Bullets (1:08)
2. Shootout (3:41)
3. Leaving the Apartment (2:08)
4. Dead Hackers (1:31)
5. Traffic Jam (4:13)
6. It’s a Fire Sale (2:57)
7. The Break-In (2:28)
8. Farrell to D.C. (4:36)
9. Copter Chase (4:41)
10. Blackout (2:03)
11. Illegal Broadcast (3:48)
12. Hurry Up! (1:23)

13. The Power Plant (2:01)
14. Landing (2:28)
15. Cold Cuts (2:00)
16. Yippee Ki Yay (4:43)
17. Break a Neck (2:47)
18. Farrell is In (4:22)
19. The F-35 (4:13)
20. Aftermath (3:12)
21. Live Free or Die Hard (2:56)
TT: 63:19


"It was conscious in the fact that, both I and the director Len (Wiseman), thought there should be some homage to the original Michael Kamen scores, because they were so classic, even though there wasn't any real defined theme for the movie, there was a Die Hard motif, but real theme. They wanted to reflect the score in some way, but the studio wanted a much more modern sounding score, so the trick was, how to achieve both. But I think the way to achieve that we figured out was to use the chord voicings in the brass, that you mentioned, and the motif and some of the string figures and score the picture in more of a modern setting, but using these throughout as recurrent motivic ideas. I think that achieved some sort of continuity and homage to Kamen's scores and satisfy the requirement of being a modern score."

- Marco Beltrami
SoundtrackNet interview, January 2008

Music Composed by Marco Beltrami
Additional Music by Marcus Trumpp
Orchestra Conducted by Marco Beltrami and Pete Anthony
Orchestrated by Pete Anthony, Bill Boston, Mary Finsterer, Rossano Galante, Jim Honeyman, Jon Kull, Tim Perrine, Dana Niu, Ceiri Torjussen and Marcus Trumpp
Recorded at The Newman Scoring Stage, 20th Century Fox
Mixed at The Robert Wise Mixing Stage

Recorded and Mixed by John Kurlander
Performed by The Hollywood Studio Symphony
Orchestra Contracted by Peter Rotter
Music Preparation by JoAnn Kane Music Services
Music Editor Alex Gibson
Produced by Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders



Other Versions
Live Free or Die Hard (bootleg): unreleased, 22+17 tracks, TT: 102:57


Reviews and Links
Taking the 3:10 to Yuma with Marco Beltrami: SoundtrackNet, January 2008


(c) 2005-2011 Petr Kocanda. Redesign 2010.
All content is intended for promotional purposes of the composer only and shouldn't be used for any commercial purposes.